Ignition Interlock Device (IID) providers in Oregon

Written by Reynolds Defense Firm

On March 17, 2018

An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is a mechanism that is wired to your car’s ignition.  It will require a breath sample prior to starting the ignition.  Installing an ignition interlock device after a DUI arrest is common, and oftentimes, mandatory.

 

Exemptions From IID Installation

While IID installation and use is mandatory for those in Diversion and those convicted of DUII charges, there are 2 recognized exemptions:

  1. A medical condition. You will need a documented medical condition and proof from a medical provider to prevent you from using an interlock device. To sum it up, you’d need a doctor to attest to what condition you had and specify if it’s permanent.  The doctor would also have to prove if it prevented you from blowing more than 5 pounds of pressure for 5 seconds or resulted in a ketone level that causes you to fail the test. On DUII Diversion cases, the judge would have the final say.
  2. An employee owned vehicle exemption. If driving an employee owned vehicle, DMV has a form you and your employer fill out, and you must keep it with you any time your operating an employer owned vehicle with out and IID.

Unless you meet one of these exemptions, you will have to get an IID.  In addition, if you are convicted of a DUII in Oregon, you must install an IID during any hardship permit period.  You will also need to keep it for a minimum of 1-2 years after the end of your court supervision period.

 

How Do I Get An IID Installed?

Oregon’s DUI laws currently allow anyone to drive a car that you have an interlock installed into. With that said, anyone operating that vehicle will have to use the interlock device in the same way as you. You can also find  ignition interlock device companies available in Oregon online.  Please be advised that the driver is responsible for all costs of the IID.  This includes purchase of the device, installation, maintenance, and removal, throughout the course of the sentence. The IID will cost about $70/month for monitoring.  Our warning: some IID companies automatically report a failure of the interlock system to the court or DUI Evaluator’s office. Even if someone else tried to start your car with alcohol on their breath, you may be required to go to court to defend yourself.

I Think I Need More Help…

If you need anything related to a DUI arrest or conviction, Reynolds Defense Firm can help.  Or if you ever need an attorney in a different area of law, we have trusted referrals that can help.  Give us a call at 503.223.3422 or visit our website for additional information.  If you are a parent, you can also check out our blog article for advice on how to tell your child about your IID.

You May Also Like…

Can I get a DUI on my motorized bike?

Can I get a DUI on my motorized bike?

With the return of e-scooters, and the growing popularity of electric bikes in the city, we wanted to share a quick list of all the motorized bikes considered “vehicles” under the law.

5 Reasons to Avoid Self-Representation

5 Reasons to Avoid Self-Representation

If you’re facing a DUI charge in Oregon you might be considering self-representation. Are you allowed to defend yourself in court? Yes. But the better question to ask is, should you? While there are many more legal resources available today than ever before, DUI...

DUI, DUII, DWI – What’s the difference?

DUI, DUII, DWI – What’s the difference?

In Oregon, if you are arrested for drinking and driving, you’ll be charged with “Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants,” or DUII for short. But you might have noticed that Oregon criminal defense attorneys commonly refer to themselves as DUI lawyers. And, you...

0 Comments